Swarm Catching

If you see a swarm and want a responsible beekeeper to come and catch it…  we have a list.

The Edmonton and Area swarm catchers for 2019 are listed by name, email, phone number and then what area they cover.

Call one of the people for the right area and be prepared to answer a few questions about:  How high? How big?, When it arrived? and if you own the property/house?

  1.  Malcolm Connell, connellmjm@hotmail.com, 780-239-9649,         Edmonton
  2. Jason Miller, jasonkmiller79@gmail.com, 780-686-8626,      Edmonton – South East
  3. Michael Wowk, mwowk84@gmail.com, 780-952-0878,     N. Edmonton (97 Street and East)
  4. Elsie Kuyt, 780-434-6349,   Edmonton and Area
  5. Caroline Prather, caroline55@shaw.ca, 780-993-5621,          Sherwood Park
  6. Tim Kihn, 780-717-5058Sherwood Park
  7. Denise and Kevin Nadeau, denisenadeau9@gmail.com, 780 405-9316, Tofield – Sherwood Park
  8. Alan Durston, alan@durston.ca, 780-920-1425,       S and W Edmonton.
  9. Ron Ford,  mr_ron_ford@yahoo.ca,      Camrose, Wataskiwin, Ponoka
  10. Ken Feth, kenfeth@yahoo.com, 780-678-4450,       Camrose, Wetaskiwin
  11. Darrell Sopel, D_sopel@yahoo.ca, 780-901-3087 ,  N.Edmonton,  Gibbons, Ft. Sask. Bon Accord
  12. Naomi Legg naomi.legg@gmail.com, 780-905-5344,       S and W Edmonton.
  13. Al Koberstein, akobe@telus.net, 780-462-8987,      S and SE Edmonton.
  14. Rob Wynn, wynnr@shaw.ca, 780-970-7620,        Edmonton
  15. Herman Dixon, hdixon1@yahoo.ca, 780-974-2609,          S Edmonton, Calmar, Leduc, Beaumont
  16. Herb Plain, herbplain@gmail.com, 780- 963-3363, cell: 780-914-5912 ,       Spruce Grove area. In the County of Parkland
  17. Penelope Harder, 780-916-1586,      South East Edmonton
  18. Len Miller, len_miller_43@yahoo.ca,      Alberta Beach/Onoway area

If all goes well then the swarm can sometimes be taken away in less than an hour (no promises).

A copy of this is being sent to Clint at Bee Maid Coop as well.

If you want to catch your own swarms, make sure to get a few pro tips from an experienced beekeeper like this article from Malcom.

Swarm In Tree, Beekeeper on ladderRemember, beekeepers won’t help you relocate a dozen bumblebees.  If you see 25 large fuzzy bees going in and out of a hole then you most likely have bumble bees.  A swarm in a tree looks like this  (red arrows)————–>

In support of the entire Beekeeping community, here are some other other sources of information about Swarm Catching in Alberta: ABC , CDBA, Dustin, and City of Edmonton.

Words are like bees, some create honey while others leave a sting.