Swarm catchers 2020

If you see a swarm of honey bees and want a responsible beekeeper to come and catch it…  we have a list!

The Edmonton and Area Swarm Catchers List

For the area you are in, please call one of the people and be prepared to answer a few questions:

How high? How big?, When it arrived? and if you own the property/house?

Listed by name, email, phone number and then what area they cover.

  1.  Malcolm Connell, connellmjm@hotmail.com, 780-239-9649,         Edmonton
  2. Marek Szkudlarek, 780-907-7240. SW Edmonton, NW Edmonton
  3. Jason Miller, jasonkmiller79@gmail.com, 780-686-8626SE Edmonton
  4. Michael Wowk, mwowk84@gmail.com, 780-952-0878,     N. Edmonton (97 Street and East)
  5. Elsie Kuyt, 780-434-6349,   Edmonton and Area
  6. Caroline Prather, caroline55@shaw.ca, 780-993-5621,          Sherwood Park
  7. Tim Kihn, 780-717-5058Sherwood Park
  8. Denise and Kevin Nadeau, denisenadeau9@gmail.com, 780 405-9316, Tofield – Sherwood Park
  9. Alan Durston, alan@durston.ca, 780-920-1425,       S and W Edmonton.
  10. Ron Ford,  mr_ron_ford@yahoo.ca ,      Camrose, Wataskiwin, Ponoka
  11. Ken Feth, kenfeth@yahoo.com, 780-678-4450,       Camrose, Wetaskiwin
  12. Darrell Sopel, D_sopel@yahoo.ca, 780-901-3087 ,  N. Edmonton,  Gibbons, Ft. Sask. Bon Accord
  13. Naomi Legg naomi.legg@gmail.com, 780-905-5344,       S and W Edmonton.
  14. Al Koberstein, akobe@telus.net, 780-462-8987,      S and SE Edmonton.
  15. Rob Wynn, wynnr@shaw.ca, 780-970-7620,        Edmonton
  16. Herman Dixon, hdixon1@yahoo.ca, 780-974-2609,          S Edmonton, Calmar, Leduc, Beaumont
  17. Herb Plain, herbplain@gmail.com,  780-914-5912 ,       Spruce Grove area in the County of Parkland
  18. Penelope Harder, 780-916-1586,      SE Edmonton
  19. Len Miller, len_miller_43@yahoo.ca,      Alberta Beach/Onoway area

If all goes well then the swarm can sometimes be taken away in less than an hour (no promises).

A copy of this is being sent to Clint at Bee Maid Coop as well.

If you want to catch your own swarms, make sure to get a few pro tips from an experienced beekeeper like this article from Malcom.

Swarm In Tree, Beekeeper on ladderRemember, beekeepers won’t help you relocate a dozen bumblebees.  If you see 25 large fuzzy bees going in and out of a hole then you most likely have bumble bees.  A real honey bee swarm in a tree… looks like this  (red arrows)————–>

In support of the entire Beekeeping community, here are some other other sources of information about Swarm Catching in Alberta: ABC , CDBA, Dustin, and City of Edmonton.

Words are like bees, some create honey while others leave a sting.